Francoise Hardy – Waiting for the Muse

16 May

I recently stumbled upon these photographs of Francoise Hardy taken by Jean-Marie Périer in 1964 and I wanted to share them because they are interesting. I love the sixties, I love some of her music that I’ve listened to, but also these five pictures on their own are fascinating because they show a creative process that an artist goes through; from feeling bored and uninspired, to writing and trying and being disappointed and giving up, and trying again, until that something you are working on feels right. I am sure anyone reading this and seeing these pics who is also an artist in one way or another can relate.

7 Responses to “Francoise Hardy – Waiting for the Muse”

  1. Tânia 16th May 2019 at 2:36 pm #

    This is really relatable. And a little depressing. What do you do when your inspiration just seems to have died away for good or you’re constantly questioning the quality of your work?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 17th May 2019 at 10:02 pm #

      Oh, I am constantly questioning the quality of my work! But I try to minimise that because that’s never brought any good results, and certainly doesn’t help creativity. I’d say I try to go back to the basics and think in terms; how does this artwork make me feel, how it moves me, how it impacts me, rather than: what am I suppose to say about it. I think words coming from the heart and from feelings create better, more heartfelt posts and bring justice to the painting I am presenting.

      Like

      • Tânia 18th May 2019 at 3:21 pm #

        You’re right in what you say and I think that’s I would have done in the past too. Actually, I don’t think I would have worried as much when I was younger, I would create when I felt like it and when it felt like too much work/it isn’t flowing, I would just stop thinking about it. It’s so much harder now. Personal issues/depression don’t help with creativity at all, and I’m a major perfeccionist who constantly thinks that other people are smarter/more creative/more sophisticated than me. I fear that I lost the ability I once had to speak and write from the heart and I wonder if it will ever come back. I’m sorry for this embarrassingly personal ramble, but this post did trigger some questions for me.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Byron's Muse 18th May 2019 at 6:16 pm #

          As cliche as it sounds, I am sure it will come back! Current stagnation is not your final creative destination.

          Like

  2. Didi 16th May 2019 at 5:32 pm #

    I read her biography sometime ago and would recommend it.

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 17th May 2019 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks for a recommendation! Yes, I heard from someone else too that it is good and sad too.

      Like

      • Didi 23rd May 2019 at 12:33 pm #

        Yes it’s very existentialist, but interesting and really well written.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment