My Inspiration for April 2024

30 Apr

This April will stay in my memory as a month of beautiful walks and dreamy melodies. Konstantin Somov’s painting “Repose at Sunset”, shown bellow, perfectly illustrates the mood of April for me; the blooming lilacs, softness, dreaminess, yes that was April for me! I found the poetic and whimsical in places and things I thought were well-known and familiar to me. The freshly sprung new leaves, the blooming tulips, roses and wisteria have enchanted me like never before. Dandelions turning silver before my eyes, bamboo swaying in the wind, full of raindrops, old unused water wells overgrown with moss, sunsets above the river, reflections of trees and houses in the river… this April was full of such beautiful scenes.

“People aren’t homes, they never will be. People are rivers, always changing, forever flowing. They will disappear with everything you put inside them.”

(Nikita Gill)

Self-display: no way to shine
Self-assertion: no way to suceed
Self-praise: no way to flourish

(Tao Te Ching)

“We are torn between nostalgia for the familiar and an urge for the foreign and strange. As often as not, we are homesick most for the places we have never known.”

(Carson McCullers)

By Konstantin Somov

Picture found here.

Mukteshvara Temple is a 10th-century Hindu temple dedicated to Shiva located in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India. (via Instagram: Jagadeesh Taluri)

Picture found here.

peach blossom in 阐福寺 chanfu temple, beihai park by 張萌Moe23gaogewf.

Picture by Bruce Lewis.

Instagram: elise.buch

Dolo, Veneto, Italy by Eleonora Boiserie

Nihonbashi – Tokyo, Japan. Picture found here.

Pink Night, Watercolor on Black Cotton Paper.

Han Lei :: Yellow Mountain 02, 2002-2008. | src Lumas

 

Picture found here.

Picture found here.

The model is styled as figures from the famous Tang dynasty painting “The Eighty-seven Immortals”.

4 Responses to “My Inspiration for April 2024”

  1. Dupays Catherine 30th Apr 2024 at 9:32 pm #

    Very beautiful, as usual.

    Do you know this Instagram account:

    https://www.instagram.com/rainiana/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 30th Apr 2024 at 11:48 pm #

      No, I didn’t know it. Nice pictures on it! Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  2. andreikilly 30th Apr 2024 at 9:51 pm #

    Can’t wait for more of your takes on the 70s and 80s movies. Having read your Wir Kinder von Bahnhof Zoo post was quite a trip in your world, I enjoy the posts that talk about the decadence of our world mostly like Absinth and the passage of times. Definitely will read your future takes on anything as I like your style of writing as a fellow writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 30th Apr 2024 at 11:49 pm #

      Thank you for saying that! Now that I know someone is interested, perhaps I will think about writing about some films I like from that time. Who knows where my curiosity and inspiration take me…

      Like

Leave a comment