Book Review: No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai

2 Feb

‘Now I have neither happiness nor unhappiness. Everything passes.’ – This is the first quote I’ve read from this book, and it stayed etched on my mind. I couldn’t stop myself from endlessly pondering over its meaning. And the title was intriguing as well – No Longer Human, what does that mean, I wondered. Now, after finally reading this brilliant book, I can say without exaggeration that I consider it one of my favourite books ever!!!

no-longer-human

Osamu Dazai (1909-1948) wrote his second novel, a dark and disturbing work of art – No Longer Human,  in a state of frenzy, some suggested he was suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder.

The book begins with an unnamed narrator finding three photos and three notebooks written by Oba Yozo, which follow his decline from a student, to an morphine addict. It tells the story of his moral, physical and emotional degradation, and downfall into the shady life of crime, suicides, prostitutes, alcohol and morphine. It’s written in the first person which gives it a psychological depth and intimate mood. Yozo tells us all his thoughts, fears and ideas – everything that the hides from the world by wearing a ‘clownish mask’ of cheerfulness and wittiness. This sentence, for me, explains Yozo’s life the best: ‘Something impure, dark, reeking of the shady character always hovers above me.‘ He feels deeply alienated from everyone around him, and his day to day existence is tormented by this intense feeling of not belonging, not being able to show others his real self, and no being able to find out, for himself, who he really is.

The story reminded me of Dostoyevsky’s Notes from the Underground, and Vadim in Ageyev’s Novel with Cocaine, because it’s narrated in the first person and deals with similar themes. In all three of these books, the main characters are fully engulfed in their own dark thoughts, feel isolated from society and their real selves, and they cannot find anything of value, nothing to cling to in a world of strangers where it’s much easier to become corrupted than try and make something out of your life. This is exactly the kind of literature I love, with characters who are weak, flawed, isolated, and I can slip through the pages and witness their downfall because it’s always inevitable. Not everyone can find their Sonia – a gentle, selfless, angel-like creature, like Raskolnikov in Crime and Punishment, to save them.

osamu-dazaiOsamu Dazai

Another thing I found fascinating is the massive amount of Dazai’s autobiographical elements. Like Yozo, Dazai neglected his studies and took interest in Marxism, prostitutes and alcohol. Both were born in privileged families and felt guilt about it. Both attempted suicide by drowning off a beach in Kamakura with young bar hostesses. Both Yozo and Dazai survived, and both women died. Both became addicted to morphine-based painkillers. At the end, Dazai committed suicide by drowning. Yozo’s whereabouts remain unknown, although he might have done the same thing.

Those of you who are inclined to judge characters such as Yozo (but I don’t believe people like that read my blog anyway), well, I have a quote to share, something which Vladimir Mayakovsky wrote upon hearing the news of Yesenin’s suicide. He wrote: ‘In this life it is easy to die, to build life is hard.'(*) So what if Yozo was weak and succumbed to all these vices, what of that? It’s so hard to be good and create a genuinely fulfilling life. And we can never know what is the right way to live, because we have only one life.

I can’t relate to that specific ‘decaying’ aspect of Yozo’s life (alcohol and women), but I can empathise. I have not (yet) fallen into destruction like him, but that’s because I have art, it comforts me in a way nothing could, it’s my love, my opium… And then there’s poetry, and music, and flowers, and the moon… Maybe, if Yozo had found something of value in his life, things would have turned out differently. Still, I utterly identify with this quote: ‘All I feel are the assaults of apprehension and terror at the thought that I am the only one who is entirely unlike the rest. It is almost impossible for me to converse with other people. What should I talk about, how should I say it? – I Don’t know.‘ The more I think about this book and Yozo, the more I can relate to him, it’s almost frightening, but like him I am terribly untrusting and I can understand how he feels when he says that he can’t reveal his true self to others, it’s not that I cannot, I don’t want to, I relish in keeping myself to myself and letting others think I’m cold and reserved. This makes the book even more interesting in my eyes.

I highly recommend you to read this book! As for myself, I plan on reading more Japanese literature. I have not yet read a book by a Japanese author that I did not like, I like the characters, who are often introverted, alienated and misunderstood, and the whole sensibility. Yukio Mishima’s portrayal of Etsuko’s loneliness and unrequited sexual longing in Thirst for Love was particularly poignant to me, for example.

Shimeko Tanabe: young bar hostess who died, while Dazai was saved…

And now some of my favourite quotes:

I drank more that night than ever before in my life, more … more, my eyes swam with drink, and every time Tsuneko and I looked in each other’s face, we gave a pathetic little smile. Yes, just as Horiki had said, she really was a poverty stricken woman and nothing more. But this thought itself was accompanied by a welling-up of a feeling of comradeship for this fellow-suffered from poverty.

***

She lay down beside me. Towards dawn she pronounced for the first time the word “death.” She too seemed to be weary beyond endurance of the task of being a human being; and when I reflected on my dread of the world and its bothersomeness, on money, the movement, women, my studies, it seemed impossible that I could go on living. I consented easily to her proposal.

***

We threw ourselves into the sea at Kamakura that night. She untied her sash, saying, she had borrowed it from a friend at the cafe, and left it folded neatly on a rock. I removed my coat and put it on the same spot. We entered the sea together.

She died. I was saved.

***

I was taken aback. Horiki at heart did not treat me like a human being. He could only consider me as the living corpse of a would-be suicide, a person dead to shame, an idiot ghost.

***

At one point, Yozo and his friend are playing a game of antonyms, and start discussing Dostoyevski and the idea of crime:

If we knew the antonym of crime, I think we would know its true nature. God… salvation … love … light. But for God there is the antonym Satan, for salvation is perdition, for love there is hate, for light there is darkness, for good, evil. Crime and prayer? Crime and repentance? Crime and confession? Crime and … no, they’re all synonyms. What is the opposite of crime? (…) Crime and punishment. Dostoievski. These words grazed over a corner of my mind, startling me.

***

It was less the fact of Yoshiko’s defilement than the defilement of her trust in people which became so persistent a source of grief as almost to render my life insupportable. For someone like myself in whom the ability to trust others is cracked and broken that I am wretchedly timid and am forever trying to read the expression on people’s faces. Yoshiko’s immaculate trustfulness seemed clean and pure, like a waterfall among green leaves. One night sufficed to turn the waters of this pure cascade yellow and muddy. Yoshiko began from that night to fret over my every smile or frown.

***

From the first to the last page, Yozo feels detached from everyone around him, and ‘ceases to be a human being’. That sounds unbearably sad, but the more I think about it, the more I find it liberating. If you think of all disgusting things that ‘humans’ have done, the ‘inhumanities’ their rotten minds have come up with, all the wars, tortures, injustices, hypocrisies – ‘the centre of humanity is cruelty’ (Manic Street Preachers – Archives of Pain). If I take all of this into consideration, then, please disqualify me to, I don’t want to be a human being! I’d rather be a flower, a star, rose petal in the wind, a blade of grass floating on the surface of the lake, or simply a drop of rain. There’s another great line from the song ‘Mausoleum’ by the Manics, which is actually taken from the interview with J.G.Ballard: ‘I wanted to rub the human face in its own vomit… and force it to look back in the mirror’.

And now I had become a madman. Even if released, I would be forever branded on the forehand with the word “madman”, or perhaps, “reject.”

Disqualified as a human being.

I had now ceased utterly to be a human being.‘ (p. 122)

***

I confess, I have shed a few tears at the end, and shivered as I read these lines:

Now I have neither happiness nor unhappiness.

Everything passes.

This is the one and only thing I have thought resembled a truth in society of human beings where I have dwelled up to now as in a burning hell.

Everything passes.

This year I am twenty-seven. My hair has become much greyer. Most people would take me for over forty.’

13 Responses to “Book Review: No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai”

  1. 1810photography 3rd Feb 2017 at 10:51 pm #

    Excellent review! I really like the way your reviews mix your personal feelings with objective analysis. It makes it so much more meaningful and interesting.

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 4th Feb 2017 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks! And I hope you decide to read the book one day. Oh, by the way, there’s one more post related to the book and art coming soon.

      Like

    • Sarah Ph. 25th Jan 2021 at 6:14 am #

      I loved this review. And I’d like to thank you for mentioning books similar to No Longer Human here. I have been looking for books exploring the same things as No Longer Human. I think I’ll go for Notes from the Underground now. Thanks a lot!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Byron's Muse 25th Jan 2021 at 5:10 pm #

        I’m so glad my reviews can inspire someone to read the book or further explore!

        Like

  2. 1810photography 4th Feb 2017 at 3:21 am #

    “And we can never know what is the right way to live, because we have only one life.” Words of wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yazu 25th Aug 2020 at 7:16 pm #

    I just finished this book in one setting, I wasnt able to put it down at all. After I just now finished it and was looking for what others had to say and I came across your blog. After your analysis I wanted to add in that I felt a profound sense of sadness when I remember the line “…he was a good boy, an angel.” Just goes to show how we are often our own harshest critics. I have yet to find anything as beautiful as ‘No Longer Human.’ there’s a great balancing of (dark) humor and, a beautiful prose that makes digesting the events easier.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 27th Aug 2020 at 4:07 pm #

      I completely agree with you! I have nothing more to add. I am delighted to meet another person who loves No Longer Human that much. The novel, with its bright pink cover, is smiling at me from the bookshelf right now and I feel like I wish to read it again. I also love the mix of wittiness and enveloping darkness. And it is written in such a simple manner.

      Like

    • pax 2nd Mar 2022 at 5:00 pm #

      I came here after finally finishing No Longer Human after so long so that I could really understand the ending. When I had finished it I just couldn’t piece together why he decided to tell us that he was considered and angel but also that she believed, “people like that had no point in living..” Or I don’t remember the quote exactly but something like that, anyway, I just couldn’t figure out why she would say he was useless but considered an angel and truth is I still don’t know but you have cleared up my assumptions on why he was called an angel. That even though Oba hated himself and the life he lived while others around him were literally describing him as a angel, it really does show us how critical we can be on ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Prena subba 28th Mar 2022 at 7:36 am #

    Brilliant review! i have always admired the dark yet comforting concept of life. Like how works of Kafka, osamu, camus are oddly beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Osamu Dazai: No Longer Human – Art and Ghost Pictures | Byron's muse - 10th Feb 2017

    […] Human is a really fascinating book I’ve read recently and I’ve already reviewed it here. In this post we’ll take a look at the main character, Oba Yozo’s connection to art and […]

    Like

  2. My Favourite Books Ever | Byron's muse - 7th May 2019

    […] No Longer Human, by Osamu […]

    Like

  3. FMP Week 5 – xinxindengcsvpa - 26th Apr 2020

    […] muse. 2020. Book Review: No Longer Human By Osamu Dazai. [online] Available at: https://byronsmuse.wordpress.com/2017/02/02/book-review-no-longer-human-by-osamu-dazai/ [Accessed 1 April 2020].>Twitter.com. 2020. 米津玄師 ハチ (@Hachi_08) On Twitter. […]

    Like

  4. Portrait of an Outcast: Review on Osamu Dazai’s No Longer Human 👤 – Baby Blue Bookworm - 26th Mar 2024

    […] Super Summary, Bryon’s Muse (blog), Wikepedia (don’t ask), and check out Wendigoon’s review on NLH […]

    Like

Leave a comment