Charles Bukowski – Stay out of the clutches of mediocrity

16 Aug

German-American writer, poet and novelist Charles Bukowski was born on this day in 1920 and since I love the stuff he wrote and luckily I haven’t read all of his novels so I am in for a treat when I do read his other books, I thought why not share some of his poetry. I know some people consider it bad poetry, but what I’ve read, I enjoyed! I love his realism, brutal honesty and cynicism; sometimes you just need a dose of that. I especially love these lines from “No Leaders, Please”: “stay out of the clutches of mediocrity” and “change your tone and shape so often that they can never categorize you”. I love the poem “my cats” because I have cats two and I am a victim of their feline charms as well. The last lines in “Throwing away the alarm clock” are poignant and sad, especially having in mind the novel “Ham on Rye.”

8 Responses to “Charles Bukowski – Stay out of the clutches of mediocrity”

  1. Upside-down Land 16th Aug 2020 at 4:03 pm #

    Thanks for these poems. I didn’t know he wrote poetry but I quite liked these. I love your wide ranging interests. Thanks for blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 16th Aug 2020 at 7:10 pm #

      I am Gemini and my interests are as diverse and varied as one would expect. Thank you for your kind words and thank you for reading! Writing and sharing cool stuff is a joy on its own, but to meet interesting and unique individuals is amazing too.

      Like

  2. Michael Hill 16th Aug 2020 at 5:22 pm #

    He knows cats ! I think I love cats even more than Louise Wain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 16th Aug 2020 at 7:13 pm #

      Me too! Cats indoors, cat outdoors, all the neighbourhood cats come to our garden to be fed. Occasionally a cute lil hedgehog too.

      Like

      • Michael Hill 17th Aug 2020 at 2:54 am #

        You are nearly as soft as me, I am feeding Mother and Father and baby seagull with cat food at the moment and I don’t even have a cat now, my wife thinks I’m insane.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael Hill 16th Aug 2020 at 5:25 pm #

    Louis

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mark Hoerner 15th Dec 2021 at 2:47 am #

    Not really German American. Raised in LA from very early childhood. But truly a dynamic poet and a communicator of truth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment