Archive | 8:54 pm

My Inspiration for February 2019

28 Feb

This February was a month of such sweet boredom and indolence, my thoughts, like butterflies, flew far away from the greyness and coldness of the physical world around me, to dreamy worlds of poems, music, Klimt’s paintings, novels. It’s delightful to let yourself be carried away like that! Minutes and hours quickly pass by, and other times the time seems to stand still. I was obsessed with some new songs that I discovered; The Charlatan’s song “Flower”, Saint Etienne’s version of Neil Young’s song “Only Love Can Break Your Heart”, and The National’s song “Conversation 16” which reminds me a bit of Tindersticks and I love the lyrics, here’s some of it:

You’re the only thing I ever want anymore

Live on coffee and flowers

Try not to worry what the weather will be

I figured out what we’re missing

I tell you miserable things after you are asleep

 

You never believe the shitty thoughts I think

Meet our friends out for dinner

When I said what I said I didn’t mean anything

We belong in a movie

 

I’m a confident liar

Had my head in the oven so you’d know where I’ll be

I’ll try to be more romantic

I want to believe in everything you believe

But I was less than amazing

Do not know what all the troubles are for

Fall asleep in your branches

I enjoyed poetry by Theophile Gautier, love poems by the Japanese poetess Ono no Komachi and Fujiwara no Toshiyuki, and I read Haruki Murakami’s novel “After Dark”, it’s the fifth novel by Murakami which I read and I wasn’t disappointed. I really love his whimsical, flowing and always intriguing writing style that makes you turn the page after page even against your will. His novels linger in the memory for a long time. Once they get into your brain, you can’t seem to get rid of the characters and ideas that he’d created. I just started reading yet another Murakami novel: Sputnik Sweetheart and I am loving it so far. Since I was so indolent, I rewatched the first four seasons of the 1990s show Beverly Hills 90210 and I enjoyed it immensely. I also reread one of my favourite novels: Junichiro Tanizaki’s “Naomi” and it was even more brilliant than the first time I’d read it.

“You know I’m old in some ways-in others-well, I’m just a little girl. I like sunshine and pretty things and cheerfulness-and I dread responsibility.” (F. Scott Fitzgerald, This Side of Paradise)

Photographed by Magdalena Franczuk

Picture found here.

Pic found here.

Pic found here.

Photo found here.

Art by Lethe, found here.

Photo found here.

Beverly Hills 90210 stills.