My Inspiration for March 2017

31 Mar

An artist I was particularly obsessed with this month is Egon Schiele – even the sparrows in my garden know this by now. Beware, there’s more to come about his genius! Other things that inspired me were: John Keats’s beautiful and poignant letters to Fanny Brawne and film Bright Star (2009), music by Blondie, The Police, Gang of Four, the soundtrack for Marie Antoinette (2006); a film which I am not a big fan of despite the gorgeous costumes. Also, I’ve really liked the version of the song ‘Summer Wine’ sung by Ville Valo and Natalia Avelon:

“Strawberries, cherries and an angel’s kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things”

Even though spring has just started, I don’t think I’ve ever felt it so deeply and profoundly. I walk the streets wide-eyed like a madman, gazing at blossoming trees in awe, picking flowers wherever I see them; gentle violets, apple twigs and fragrant daffodils have all found their way to my vase. The beauty of trees in bloom and pink sunsets is killing me so sweetly and slowly. And in April I shall spend my evenings sitting by the window, reading poetry and listening to Chopin, and my daydreams shall start and my heart shall be filled with delight when I take in the intoxicating fragrance of lilac trees. Expect an utterly romantic and indolent mood for April!

Leave a comment