I Live My Life in Widening Circles – Rainer Maria Rilke

17 Jul

1930s Several Circles, Vasily Kandinsky1930s Several Circles – Vasily Kandinsky

”I live my life in widening circles
that reach out across the world.
I may not ever complete the last one,
but I give myself to it.

I circle around God, that primordial tower.
I have been circling for thousands of years,
and I still don’t know: am I a falcon,
a storm, or a great song?”

1913. Vassily Kandinsky - Color Study, Squares with Concentric Circles1913. Vassily Kandinsky – Color Study Squares with Concentric Circles

2 Responses to “I Live My Life in Widening Circles – Rainer Maria Rilke”

  1. Elliot 17th Jul 2015 at 4:40 pm #

    I really like the ‘Several Circles’ painting, I can easily imagine it to be many different things from planets to particles – quite inspiring.

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 18th Jul 2015 at 9:33 am #

      It’s an extraordinary painting indeed, very vibrant, and open-minded just like the poem. I’m glad you find it inspiring because I feel the same way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment