My Inspiration for May 2021

31 May

This May I was in the mood for the Pre-Raphaelite art (when am I not in the mood for that?…), but especially the drawings of Dante Gabriel Rossetti which I feel that I love even more than his paintings. I have also been enjoying the art of Foujita and Miroslav Kraljević, as you have seen from the posts I have written on the topic. I was also reading a book “The Game of Life and How to Play It” by Florence Shinn and here is a very wise quote from it:

“Nothing stands between man and his highest ideals and every desire of his heart, but doubt and fear. When man can “wish without worrying,” every desire will be instantly fulfilled. (…) fear must be erased from the consciousness. It is man’s only enemy – fear of lack, fear of failure, fear of sickness, fear of loss and a feeling of insecurity on some plane. Jesus Christ said: “Why are ye fearful, oh ye of little faith?” (Mat. 8:26) So we can see we must substitute faith for fear, for fear is only inverted faith; it is faith in evil instead of good.”

“Look in my face; my name is Might-have-been;

I am also call’d No-more, Too-late, Farewell”

(Dante Gabriel Rossetti, The House of Life)

Ca’ d’Oro, photographed by David Hamilton, Venice, 1989.

Picture found here.

Jane Asher in 1964

Brigitte Bardot, Le Stroboscope, Paris, 1956 – Ph. Willy Rizzo

Picture found here.

Sarajevo, picture found here.

5 Responses to “My Inspiration for May 2021”

  1. haoyando 31st May 2021 at 5:54 pm #

    Beautiful photos and paintings. And the last picture-the city of Sarajevo–I heard of it, but can’t remember where I heard it. LOL.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. SoSweetlySheSings 2nd Jun 2021 at 1:56 am #

    I absolutely LOVE pre-raphaelite art, especially the paintings done by Burne-Jones. I’m loving the 60s art here as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Burne-Jones fan 22nd Jul 2021 at 12:02 pm #

      The two link up! Burne-Jones was a true visionary artist – and he was also a big infuence on 1960s album covers and poster art, both in England and on the West Coast of America.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment