My Inspiration for May 2024

31 May

This May truly did pass like a dream… Half-tragic, half-whimsical this month was; a touch of death made me cherish each new day and made me reflect on certain months in the past and how important it is to truly live in the present. Otherwise I tried to make my days as whimsical and fairytale-like as possible; the world of Beatrix Potter is vivid and alive for me when I gaze at the splendour of my garden and when I spend time with my pets. An addition to whimsicallity was that I started reading Peter S. Beagle’s novel The Last Unicorn. There are no words to describe how exhilarating I find the greenery and the spring showers these days. I patiently await for the signs of summer; in the ripening of the currants and the figs, in warmer evenings and beautiful sunsets… I also daydreamed of Nepal extensively – a little piece of my heart remains there, and the far east. The dreams were further intensified with the ancient Chinese and Japanese poetry that I was reading this May. I also have a renewed interest in collages which I have enjoyed making over the past couple of years. Time flies. I truly can’t believe another June is upon us – may it be a wonderful one.

“I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story.
From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked. One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was Ee Gee, the amazing editor, and another fig was Europe and Africa and South America, and another fig was Constantin and Socrates and Attila and a pack of other lovers with queer names and offbeat professions, and another fig was an Olympic lady crew champion, and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn’t quite make out.
I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn’t make up my mind which of the figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.

(Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar)

“COUNTING days is like snapping
one’s fingers—
Even May passes like a dream.”

(Ryokan)

Queen cover image with model wearing a nightdress by Angela Gore. Photographed by John Hedgecoe. Scanned by Miss Peelpants from Queen, 17th July 1968.

Picture found here.

Couture dress made completely of flowers by Splints & Daisies.

Photography: With Love & Embers / Hair & Makeup: Plum Salon and Spa / Model: Jazlyn Herr

Picture found here.

Picture found here.

lucid dreams, by laura-makabresku

R

photo by mugung @mu_gung

Dress Worn by Pattie Boyd for a flight from London Heathrow to Los Angeles with George Harrison, Neil Aspinall and Alexis ‘Magic Alex’ Mardas on 1 August 1967

Designed by The Fool, 1967, Christie’s: The Pattie Boyd Collection (Lot 11)

Morita Rieko 森田 りえ子

Picture by Julian Rad found here.

Picture by Julian Rad found here.

Picture found here.

Picture found here.

Spring lanterns. Mihashira shrine in Fukuoka, Japan.

Xi’an,China. via jason lee.

Picture found here.

Night.. ReijiHiramatsu

Picture found here.

Picture found here.

3 Responses to “My Inspiration for May 2024”

  1. danieldecoen 31st May 2024 at 7:34 pm #

    The photograph by Laura Makabresku reminded me of Where the wild roses grow by Nick Cave and Kylie Minogue, an example of how idealisation can lead to tragedy.

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 31st May 2024 at 7:48 pm #

      I love Nick Cave! Laura Makabresku had very lovely photographs, dreamy and melancholy.

      Like

  2. Adam J. Mendoza 31st May 2024 at 7:38 pm #

    Indeed, may it be a wonderful June.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment