Lermontov: It’s Boring and Sad…

9 Nov

This poem arose from the same source that inspired Lermontov to write his novel ‘A Hero of Our Time’, a fabulous literary work, especially if you like Romanticism or Russian literature. The main character, Pechorin, is a superfluous man, just like Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin, which is a Russian version of the Byronic hero; he’s a pessimistic and cynic man prone to self-destruction who feels superior to his surroundings and yet does nothing to use his potentials, a strong sense of boredom and absurdity of life drives him to lonely wanderings, restlessly seeking oblivion. The lyrical subject of this poem shares his thoughts of sadness and boredom with life, following the path of the superfluous man, viewing life as a cruel joke. This poem is very dear to me because I have the same thoughts on life; I am a melancholic soul, and if it wasn’t for the beauty of art, poetry and rock music, I wouldn’t see any purpose of life at all. Life without art isn’t a life at all.

1830-35-sunset-brothers-or-evening-landscape-with-two-men-caspar-david-friedrichCaspar David Friedrich, Sunset (Brothers) or Evening Landscape With two Men, 1830-35

It’s boring and sad, and there’s no one around

In times of my spirit’s travail…

Desires!…What use is our vain and eternal desire?..

While years pass on by – all the best years!

 

To love…but love whom?.. a short love is vexing,

And permanent love’s just a myth.

Perhaps look within? – The past’s left no trace:

All trivial, joys and distress…

 

What good are the passions? For sooner or later

Their sweet sickness ends when reason speaks up;

And life, if surveyed with cold-blooded regard,-

Is stupid and empty – a joke…

7 Responses to “Lermontov: It’s Boring and Sad…”

  1. lautreamont 15th November 2016 at 5:22 pm #

    Howdy there Melancholy Muse.Have you read Proust?

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 16th November 2016 at 3:32 pm #

      Hello as well.
      I indeed started reading Proust about a year ago, because I have had a feeling of longing for lost times ever since I can remember, but I stopped after about fifty pages – I just couldn’t continue. Though I’d love to try and read it again one day.

      Like

      • lautreamont 16th November 2016 at 6:25 pm #

        A lot of people have the same reaction as you and abandon it.I did the same first time round. Maybe someday if you try again and persevere you’ll get the full exquisite hit and become a Proust addict-I am, I’ve read it five times, and will certainly read it again.Proust,Dostoyevsky and Shakespeare,my favourite writers.

        Like

        • Byron's Muse 17th November 2016 at 11:19 am #

          I do hope I’ll pick it up again and like it. I love Dostoyevsky as well, ever since I’ve read Crime and Punishment, which I loved to the last detail, I’ve been craving more of his writing. Any recommendations? Poor Folk or Idiot?

          Like

          • lautreamont 17th November 2016 at 3:53 pm #

            Most of them are great: The Idiot,The,Brothers Karamazov,The Devils, A a lot of the short stories are good too.Try A Nasty Story,.However my favourite is Crime and Punishment.I read that book when I was twenty, stayed up all night till I finished it.It left me stunned.Truly great literature! I’m glad you liked it too.These days I mostly read the Greeks and Romans :Sophocles ,Aeschylus,Ovid etc .I thought of you the other day.I was looking at some paintings by Giorgio de Chirico:floorboards,mannequins,melancholy,It’s Byron’s Muse! Best A

            Liked by 1 person

            • Byron's Muse 17th November 2016 at 5:59 pm #

              Thanks for reminding me of Dostoyevsky, will definitely read some more of his fab novels. Oh, Chirico, nice comparison! Thanks.
              By the way, I really really love Kerouac as well! 🙂

              Like

              • lautreamont 17th November 2016 at 6:36 pm #

                Read him a long time ago:On the Road,the .Dharma Bums,Desolation Angels,The Subterraneans-I’m not much impressed with that American “Beat” stuff now.Of all of them I like bits of Burroughs best

                Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

