Three Years on the Blog – Special Post: Things That Make Me Happy

20 Oct

It’s 162th anniversary of Arthur Rimbaud’s birth. And it’s also the day which marks the third year of my blog! I am very excited to be announcing this and I will use this opportunity to thank all of you readers, both old and new, who at least once decided to take a few minutes of your day and read my post, to all who ever commented and shared their thoughts, to all who ever liked my post, or felt inspired after reading it. Also, this is my 275th post.

thee-years-on-the-blog-1-b-byronsmuse

Of course, this blog means to me more than it could ever mean to you, not only because it is a place to share my interests, but also because it shows the passing of time, which is a thing that saddens me the most. When I started this blog I didn’t know what would become of it, or how long it would last, but now I see that I have created a place of beauty, and I also know now that I never want to differentiate between old and new, Dionysian and Apollonian, posh and trashy. Quite the opposite, I want to share things that inspire me, write about them in a passionate, lyrical and informative way, and make connections between the art as it is classically perceived, and fragments of popular culture. I love making connections between works of art and lyrics from rock songs. And I’d be damned if I’m wrong. Art, literature and rock and roll are three most important things in my life after all!

Still, I have to say that my most popular posts include topics such as 1960s, Syd Barrett and psychedelia. I’ve had quite a few people telling me that my posts are evocative of the sixties, and that’s coming from people who lived in London at the time, so that’s truly a compliment, if I’m allowed a bit of arrogance today. I’ve had nothing but fondest experiences related to this blog, and I’ve had a chance to get acquainted with some really nice people, some I’d even like to meet in person one day. It goes without saying that it’s an immense pleasure writing it.

I’ve made three collages which represent the main themes of my blog. All in all, if you are a faithful follower you already know, and if you’re a new reader you are about to find out; I would call my posts a whimsical mix of art, psychedelia, Romanticism and Rock Music, Pre-Raphaelites and Swinging sixties, Jane Eyre and 1840s, with a bit of poetry, Impressionism, Modigliani, Klimt and Egon Schiele, a few film and book reviews, and a fair deal of broodiness and melancholy because it’s so sweet being sad, and I can’t help it.

thee-years-on-the-blog-2-byronsmuse

I will use this opportunity to share something a bit more personal than it is usually the case with my posts – I will talk about things that make me happy. And here they are: rain, thunderstorms and grey skies. Autumn weather and leaves crackling underfoot. Candles; plain white ones, lighting them makes me feel like I’m in Victorian era, or in a Gothic novel. Discovering art, reading and writing about art. Listening to Chopin’s Nocturnes. Poetry. Long walks. Daydreaming about far-away places, moods, people and architecture. Cappuccino, chocolate, cakes; anything sweet. Being in a middle of a really good book. Listening to groovy music, and any of the following: Syd Barrett, Manic Street Preachers, The Smiths, The Libertines, Echo and the Bunnymen, Velvet Underground, The Stone Roses, Joy Division… Putting new pictures on my wall. Documentaries by Waldemar Januszczak. Writing a good post. Finding a smashing connection between an artwork and lyrics from a song. Being dressed like a sixties dolly.

thee-years-on-the-blog-3-byronsmuse

If you have any suggestions or some good blogging tips, feel free to share them, it would be much appreciated! And of course, share with me what makes you happy if you’d like, I’m always happy to hear.

2 Responses to “Three Years on the Blog – Special Post: Things That Make Me Happy”

  1. Elliot 21st October 2016 at 5:14 pm #

    Congrats on your third year! My blogs third anniversary was in September, I could scarce believe I had been going that long. Great montages, they really sum up very well the themes and mood of your blog – a blog which if you don’t mind me saying is truly unique and original, unlike any other I have come across, you are always interesting and thought-provoking – you write a good mix of things I am already interested in and things of which I am ignorant so that I do learn a lot reading your posts. Many of the things you mention as making you happy I wholeheartedly agree with as very worthwhile and are some of the best things in life – especially chocolate! I hope you keep the blog going for a good long while yet, best wishes and have a good weekend.
    Elliot

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 22nd October 2016 at 8:53 am #

      Thank you for your lovely comment! I am delighted to hear that you find my blog unique and original – it does mean a lot to me, especially coming from you, and I’m glad that you learn something new from my posts, I do like being educational. I think very highly of your blog as well, although the themes are not always my cup of tea, and I would recommend it to anyone interested in nature, books, illustrations and wildlife. I congratulate you for blogging for so long because that is an achievement. It’s nice to hear that you agree with the list of things that make me happy, and not mentioning chocolate would be a pure lie, ha ha. Also, there’s a lot of interesting posts coming, so say tuned.
      Thanks again! Keep up your blogging, and have a nice weekend yourself.
      Byron’s Muse

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

