My Inspiration for September III

30 Sep

This month I was inspired by Biba fashion, vintage butterfly prints, Marianne Faithfull, 1970s street style, 1920s delicate silk dresses, Baby Face (1933) with Barbara Stanwyck. I’ve read The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami and biography of Franz Liszt by Barbara Meier. I’ve discovered some interesting tunes: Marble Orchard by The Graveyard Five and Death Bells at Dawn by The Lords.

I’ve watched Twin Peaks, again, after five years, and I loved it even more than I did the first time. It leaves you with so many questions. I definitely recommend it, especially for these Autumn days. I love David Lynch’s aesthetics; 1950s diners, cherry pies and coffee, strange woods, logs, mystery in the air.

I’m in two different moods this Autumn; first includes Echo and the Bunnymen’s ‘glamour of doom’, Caspar David Friedrich, photos by Irina Ionesco, distant shores, night sky, rain, roses and veils, sad brides, Moon, Cleo de Merode, and the other is more psychedelic: hippies, astrology, Dark Shadows (2012), warm colours on Millais’ Autumn Leaves, Donovan’s  Season of the Witch, The Zodiac by the Cosmic Sounds (1967), Art Nouveau and 1960s. My days are filled with art, candles and burning incense sticks, listening to psychedelic music, dressed like a sixties dolly, and writing posts. Whenever I’m happy like this, I fear it won’t last. And now some lyrics that are on my mind recently:

Panic on the streets of London,

Panic on the streets of Birmingham

I wonder to myself,

Could life ever be sane again?‘ (The Smiths, Panic)

1968. Baby Doll Cosmetics September 2

1960s pattie boyd 2

1903-cleo-de-merode1901. Cleo de Merode by Boldini1970s-photo-of-eva-ionesco-by-irina-ionesco-6purple-moonecho and the bunnymen heaven up here

1818-20. Greifswald Harbour - Caspar David Friedrich ian-mccullochecho

1920-25-purple-silk-gown-by-jeanne-lanvinirving-pennguinevere-van-seenus-in-armani-prive-spring-summer-2014-by-paolo-roversi-for-vogue-italia-march-2014-1

1910-ginette-genevieve-lantelme-in-les-modes-january-1910-hat-by-marie-louisegroupie-2veil-and-roses-macabre-2

Butterflies

1960s-marianne-faithfull-143

misspandora.fr

1974. Illustration by Kasia Charko for Biba, summer

dark shadows carolyn's room 4dark shadows chloe 7dark shadows chloe 41856. autumn leaves - John Everett Millais1960s marianne faithfull 681960s fashion illustrations

 

4 Responses to “My Inspiration for September III”

  1. Gea Austen 30th September 2016 at 4:42 pm #

    Love the Painted Lady and the Twin Peaks reference , as usual you have woven your fabric finely x

    Like

Leave a Reply

