My Inspiration for July III

31 Jul

This month I was inspired by 17th century portraits, colour yellow, painters Anne Redpath and Jan Vermeer, Brighton pier, and some beautiful yellow-blue paintings by van Gogh. I read some interesting books such as Golding’s Lord of the Flies and Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, and discovered some new authors – Norwegian writer Lars Saabye Christensen; I’ve read his book Maskeblomstfamilien which was very interesting, weird, poetic, morbid and most of all intriguing – I read it in two days, and Cardiff-based writer John Williams; I’ve read his book Cardiff Dead and Five pubs, Two Bars and a Night Club; he opened a whole new world for me, a world of modern Cardiff, Butetown specifically, with bars, prostitutes, ska music…

I finally watched two films that a fellow blogger has recommended to me; Love and Friendship (2016) and Tale of Tales (2015): I liked both films, the former has great costumes and the latter brought my attention to 17th century art and fashion, and it was very very imaginative and dark. And I watched Blackadder and Doctor Who again, series 5 and 6 in particular, and it was smashing!

1658. Jan Vermeer van Delft - Girl reading a Letter at an Open Window

Tale of Tales (2015) 5 Tale of Tales (2015) 6

Tale of Tales (2015) 7

Redpath, Anne; Still Life of Flowers and a Teapot; National Trust, Fenton House; http://www.artuk.org/artworks/still-life-of-flowers-and-a-teapot-217649

1950s Anne Redpath - Painting 4

Redpath, Anne; Corsican Village; Glasgow Museums; http://www.artuk.org/artworks/corsican-village-85811

sharon tate1888. Vincent van Gogh, The SowerMake up at DSquared2 Spring 2012 Larme d'Or by Anne Marie Zilberman

1635. Anthony van Dyck - Portrait of Queen Henrietta Maria1899. Max Kurzweil, Dame im gelben Kleid1669-70. The Love Letter (Dutch De liefdesbrief) by Jan Vermeer1636-38. Anthony van Dyck - Princess Henrietta Maria of France, Queen consort of England1640s Queen Henrietta Maria (1609–1669) by John Russell 1669. Anne Julie de Rohan-Chabot, Princesse de Soubise1600s Portrait of Anne Carr by Anthony van Dyck

Rubbish May be Shot Here 1937 by Julian Trevelyan 1910-1988  queenie 2 1888. John William Waterhouse - The Danaides

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

me without you 3

Port Talbot, Wales 1

1554-56. Veronese - Juno Showering Gifts on Venetia, 1554-56 detail 121528-30. Decorated Text Page, France, Medium Tempera colors and gold paint on parchment

Brigitte Bardot et Pablo Picasso dans l'atelier de la villa "Californie" a Cannes en 1956 pendant le festival de Cannes Neg:CX24335--- Brigitte Bardot and Pablo Picasso during Cannes festival 1956 in villa "Californie" in Cannes

1899. Summer Evening at Skagen beach. The artist and his wife - Kroyerdoctor who series 5 i

5 Responses to “My Inspiration for July III”

  1. Elliot 31st July 2016 at 5:02 pm #

    Great post, lovely images, I’m glad you got to see those films and that you liked them – Tale of Tales really had some strong imagery that has stuck in my mind for weeks now, great locations and costumes too. Brighton pier is an interesting one, I used to visit it often as a child, the garish games and slot machines aren’t my scene really but the architecture of the pier itself is fab and it certainly makes a good subject for photography and art.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Byron's Muse 1st August 2016 at 11:15 am #

      I really loved Tale of Tales, it was intriguing and I liked that there were three stories. ‘some strong imagery that has stuck in my mind for weeks now’ – my thoughts exactly. Imma’s bloody face at the end or Violet’s escape on a tightrope with the help of entertainers, those were some memorable for me. I’ve never actually seen Brighton pier, but it looks beautiful and film Me Without You (2001) is partly set in Brighton so it drew my attention to it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gea Austen 31st July 2016 at 5:42 pm #

    lovely,, such a rich theme,, I love the way you find a link between old and new,, the people the colours ,, x

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review: Cardiff Dead by John Williams | Byron's muse - 9th August 2016

    […] you may have seen in my post My Inspiration for July, John Williams is an author I discovered in July. Being very enthusiastic about his book Cardiff […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

