My Inspiration for April III

30 Apr

April has gone by so quickly for me. I remember the evening of 1st April so vividly: magnolia blossoms, smell of freshly mown grass, bird song, sweet hopes for the weekend… Time flies.

My discovery for this month is a YouTube channel called ‘School of Life’, I especially liked their video ‘Are You Romantic or Classical?’ Do check it out, I’d like to know which one are you. It goes without saying I’m 100% romantic. Their videos, mostly about art, history, philosophy, sociology, are a perfect dose of intellect and pessimism. Also, watch their video about Lao Tzu – animations are nice.

My other inspirations include Romanticism, Mary Shelley, Aestheticism, and Oscar Wilde, Serge Gainsbourg, kitchen sink dramas. As for films, I have to mention a few ‘Withnail and I’ (1987) – mind blowing, Cheri (2009), Irma la Douce (1963), A Little Chaos (2014), Alfie (1966), Sparrows (1926) – gothic mood, Gainsbourg: Heroic Life, The Girl With the Green Eyes and The Knack… and How to Get it – both with Rita Tushingham, and The Heiress (1949) which I watched only because of Montgomery Clift. And I almost finished watching all the films from the list of ‘Best films set in the 1960s

1785-86. Thomas Gainsborough - Mrs. Richard Brinsley Sheridan

1782. Princess Augusta Sophia of the United Kingdom

Cheyne Walk c.1840 British School 19th century 1800-1899 Presented by E. Homan 1899 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N01719

Cheyne Walk c.1840 British School 19th century 1800-1899 Presented by E. Homan 1899 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/N01719

1857. The Sister’s Grave by Thomas Brooks

romanticism architecturethe smiths there is a light that never goes out

1984. Morrissey and Oscar Wilde books 1970s Debbie Harry, Call Me 31777-78. Thomas Gainsborough - Portrait of Anne, Countess of Chesterfield

1930s Joan Bennett 1  Gainsbourg Vie Heroique (2010) 3

GAINSBOURG: A HEROIC LIFE, (aka GAINSBOURG (VIE HEROIQUE)), from left: Lucy Gordon as Jane Birkin, Eric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg, 2010. ©Focus Features

GAINSBOURG: A HEROIC LIFE, (aka GAINSBOURG (VIE HEROIQUE)), from left: Lucy Gordon as Jane Birkin, Eric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg, 2010. ©Focus Features

1964. The Girl With The Green Eyes with Rita Tushingham 1

1946. Great Expectations (1946) 14 1946. Great Expectations (1946) 2 1938. Bette Davis in 'Jezebel' (1938) 101965. The Knack... and How to Get It 12

1776-78. Lady Elizabeth Hamilton (1753–1797), Countess of Derby by George RomneyA_LITTLE_CHAOS_2.jpg

1966. Alfie 1

4 Responses to “My Inspiration for April III”

  1. Elliot 2nd May 2016 at 2:32 pm #

    I’m so glad you’ve seen Withnail and I – that is one of my all-time favourite films, a true cult classic, every second of that film is a joy to me. I’ve even got the original screenplay which is hilarious to read, I have also been to some of the shooting locations in the Lake District.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 2nd May 2016 at 4:32 pm #

      Oh, I see you’re quite a fan, which is justifiable because the film is indeed brilliant! Did you visit the Wordsworth’s house in the Lake District as well, like Steve Coogan in ‘The Trip’? What are some films you’ve seen recently, if it’s not a secret?

      Like

      • Elliot 2nd May 2016 at 4:57 pm #

        Unfortunately I was volunteering rather than on holiday in the Lakes so I was unable to visit Wordsworth’s house, hopefully I will go up there again in the future. As for films, quite a variety but I did recently watch the latest ‘Jane Eyre’ adaptation which was quite good (Fassbender was great I thought), I have also seen ‘Four Lions’ which is a black comedy about terrorism and I went to the cinema to see ’10 Cloverfield Lane’ a suspense thriller that was really good, also the new Jungle Book film which was amazing – the original cartoon was a childhood fave and I have read the book too. Thanks for asking.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Byron's Muse 2nd May 2016 at 6:11 pm #

          I’m a massive fan of film Jane Eyre and Fassbender is the only Mr Rochester for me! 😉

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

