My Inspiration for January

31 Jan

This month I watched lots of films, and I can’t resist mentioning most of them because they were simply marvelous: The Fearlesss Vampire Killers (1967), A Taste of Honey (1961), Danish Girl (2015), While We’re Young (2014), Russian Ark (2002), The Toast (2010), Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa (2013), The Trip (2010), and a documentary about Hermitage museum. Film Alan Partridge is so funny, I liked every bit of it. Here are a few quotes: ‘Get rid of her, Lynn, she’s a drunk and a racist! I’ll tolerate one, but not both‘, I think it would be a bit sexist to let all the women go out first. or What’s it like in there?Ah… scary, stressful, lots of shouting. – A bit like being married again.

I’ve read lots of books too but I’ve finished reading only Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien and Shirley by Charlotte Bronte. Oh, and the next post I’ll publish will be about one of these paintings. Can you guess?

alice in wonderland mad hatter

1875. Jules Emile Santin - Reflections 1876. Mademoiselle de Lancey - Charles Auguste Émile Durand1873. The Railway by Edouard Manet1892-95. At the Moulin Rouge by Henri Toulouse-Lautrec1966. Sharon Tate - Dressed By Mary Quant (1966) 1911-19. Marie Laurencin, The Dancer, 1911-1919, oil on canvas 1934. Illustration for 'The Stratosphere' from Chimney Town, Illustrated by Ida Rentoul Outhwaite.(1888-1960).syd barrett cover

the madcap laughs 5 1977. David Bowie 1 1891. Circe Offering the Cup to Odysseus by John William Waterhouse 1897. Flora and the Zephyrs (detail) by John Waterhouse

1821 Alexandre-Jean Dubois-Drahonet - Portrait of Amélie du Bois, wife of Lt.-Gen. Emile Joseph Frison, aide to King Leopold IILSD cats 1

Alice in Wonderland Mia1969. Jean Shrimpton in an ad for Yardley's, Super-Magical New Slicker, September

Eddie Redmayne and Alicia Vikander, Photographed by Annie Leibovitz, For Vogue October 2015 Miniature French House designed by SRKminiature 21880. The Love Letter by Rogelio de Egusquiza y Barrena (Spanish, 1845-1915)

Felicity Jones as Catherine Morland in Northanger Abbey - 2007

2 Responses to “My Inspiration for January”

  1. Elliot 31st January 2016 at 7:29 pm #

    I am surprised you are into Alan Partridge, I love it, but all the women I know hate it! His original TV show is fantastic and I really liked the film. The Trip is absolutely brilliant too, I would recommend the sequel – The Trip to Italy which is just as good, they visit a lot of places associated with Shelly and Byron which I think you would like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byron's Muse 1st February 2016 at 6:10 pm #

      The film gave me a good giggle, I loved his sense of humour, I’m surprised somebody would dislike it! I think you can learn something from Alan – taking advantage of every situation. Yeah, I watched The Trip to Italy, but it wasn’t as amusing as the first part in my opinion, had high expectations since the plot was connected to Byron and Shelley. I think the Lake Poets got a better treatment. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

