My Inspiration for July II

30 Jul

This month has been the least inspirational month of the year, I just really don’t like summer, and warm weather, but in return I’ve read quite a lot of books. What else can you do when you’re bored? I’ve read The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Tales of the Jazz Age by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides, Slowness by Milan Kundera, Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre, The Outsiders by S.E.Hinton, The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton, and two plays by Tennessee Williams – A Streetcar named Desire and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. All of these were very interesting and I recommend them, especially The Outsiders. I’ve watched three good films as well: Singles (1992) – with a young and handsome Matt Dillon as a grundge rock musician , The Outsiders (1983) (also Matt Dillon), and Me Without You (2001). I’ve also watched the new film ‘Madame Bovary’ (2014) starring Mia Wasikowska but it wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be, maybe that’s because I feel strongly about the subject.

I simply have to share with you a few TV series that I’ve watched. Firstly, The Fall, crime drama television series set in Belfast, secondly Terry Jones’ documentary Medieval Lives – very interesting, presented in an amusing way, you can watch it on youtube. It’s thematically divided into episodes titled Knight, Damsel, Peasant etc. so you can watch only the specific episode that interests you. And finally, a new American tv-series Wayward Pines starring Matt Dillon.

Karen Gillan and Aneurin Barnard as Jean Shrimpton and David Bailey celtic nations 5 Merlin Guinevere 6

Merlin Morgana Dress 16

The lady of the lake Castle, Camelot Aby lan Lee knights of the round table Merlin Eoin Macken as Gawain The Giant's Causeway, County Antrim 1877-78. Two Dancers Entering the Stage - Edgar Degas 1874. Edgar Degas, Two Dancers on a Stage 1879. Three Ballet Dancers - Edgar Degas ballerina 148 ballerina 149 fairy drawing Autumn Treehouses ~ Becca Stadtlander Kay Nielsen’s interpretation of Bluebeard for London Illustrated News, 1913 Kay Nielson 7

1910s Umberto Brunelleschi Illustration 4 1910s Umberto Brunelleschi Illustration 2 1924. Vintage Vogue ⍌ art and illustration for vogue magazine covers - Vogue, May 1, 1924 medieval lives 1940s Lauren Bacall reading a book 1970s Harlem 1 sharon tate 122 europe map

3 Responses to “My Inspiration for July II”

  1. Elliot 30th July 2015 at 5:27 pm #

    An interesting set of pictures, I was not aware that you had any interest in the medieval period – ancient history from the medieval backwards is most engaging to me. I am intrigued by the maps of Europe and Celtic lands, in what way do they inspire or interest you?

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 31st July 2015 at 11:29 am #

      Cultural richness of Europe is very inspirational to me. I enjoy looking at the map of Europe and imagining what’s it like in all those countries, the architecture, the daily life, the writers and artists, the atmosphere of those places. Central Europe is most interesting to me though; Prague, Budapest, Krakow, Zagreb, Wien, Bratislava. I’ve also been intrigued by Celts recently, mainly by watching Merlin, I like their belief in sacred trees and their gods and goddesses. My interest in medieval period sparked only recently too, my knowledge of history pre-16th century is very bad and I’m not really proud of that. I like medieval period only in an idealised way, in the way Romanticists and Victorians saw it. What about you, what’s fascinating about Europe/medieval period to you? Do you like Greek mythology too?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Elliot 31st July 2015 at 12:43 pm #

        The medieval period is interesting to me in part because it is so different to how we live now, also because there was a lot of interesting stuff going on with the monarchy, battles and the social system. I also like how that period is portrayed in the film Jabberwocky and monty python and the holy grail – gritty and a bit crazy. I do find the history of Europe interesting too, especially ancient history when Britain was still connected and the continent was covered in vast wild forests. Greek mythology is certainly imaginative, with some great monsters and heros. I don’t really read the Greek myths or plays though as I find northern European mythology more absorbing but it certainly has a lot going for it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

