My favourite books (so far)

25 May

My reading tastes are rather eclectic but anchored in the 19th century. I have only scratched the surface of literature but still wanted to share with you the list of books that I’ve particularly enjoyed. I’m a slow reader so there’s always a ton of books on my endless reading list. It sometimes takes me a whole month to read one book!

1856. Alfred Stevens Young Woman ReadingThis is me, reading a book in one of my previous lives in the Victorian era.  🙂

I decided to split this list into two sections:

1) books that inspire me, give me comfort and which I enjoy rereading.

  • Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera
  • Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carrol
  • Mary Poppins – P.L.Travels
  • Lola Rose – Jacqueline Wilson
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
  • Eugene Onegin – Alexandr Pushkin
  • Short stories by Edgar Allan Poe
  • Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien

2) Books which I really enjoyed reading but wouldn’t read again soon because they’re quite negative and destructive or at least sad

  • Thirst for Love – Yukio Mishima
  • Torture garden – Octave Mirbeau
  • On the Road, and basically any other novel by Jack Kerouac
  • 1984 – George Orwell
  • Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
  • We Children from Bahnhof Zoo – Kai Hermann and Horst Rieck

Well, that’s it. I hope that you like some of these books and authors. If you have any suggestions about the books I should read be free to let me know.

2 Responses to “My favourite books (so far)”

  1. Elliot 25th May 2015 at 7:21 pm #

    You have a very good taste in books I must say, and I know what you mean about 1984 – it was well written but I could never read it again! Sense and sensibility is my favourite Austin (though pride and prejudice is not far behind). If you like period novels then I would recommend Dracula and the Sherlock Holmes stories, or perhaps Three Men in a Boat which was written in the late 1800’s and is very funny. You may have read my favourite book list on my blog, if you have then you will know that one of the best books (trilogy) I have ever read is the Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake – it is a long read but worth the effort.

    Like

    • Byron's Muse 26th May 2015 at 3:04 pm #

      I’ve just checked your favourite book list, and I must say that you have a very good taste too! I enjoyed reading ‘The chronicles of Narnia’ too. Thanks for your recommendation, I actually intended to read Dracula for I’ve liked the movie from 1992, but never really got to it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

