My Inspirations for March II

31 Mar

I must say that I have discovered some new and interesting things in March. First of all, Claude Debussy; his music is so calming and magical, it has the same effect on me as Monet’s paintings do. I’ve started by listening Debussy’s ‘Afternoon of a Faun’, then listened to Reverie, Nocturne, The Girl with the Flaxen Hair, Arabesque, Le Mer, and Sirenes; his melodies are simply enchanting, perfect for this springtime, along with Rimbaud’s poems, and Monet and Renoir’s paintings. I’ve also been listening to Oasis and The Stone Roses pretty much all the time, it’s irresistible! My other inspirations were Vincent van Gogh’s Letters, Britpop, Klimt, and films Shutter Island and Lolita (1962).

If you have never, you must listen to Rachmaninov’s ‘The Isle of the Dead’. It’s so melancholic and gloomy, typical for Rachmaninov’s work, and strangely morbid and intriguing at the same time, full of dark beauty.

I started reading Crime and Punishment five days ago, but I have about 150 pages left. Still, it is the most intriguing, the most touching book I’ve read in a while. The very thought of finishing the novel makes me insufferably sad.

the stone roses

the stone roses 13

the stone roses 2

Oasis Definitely Maybe

1996. Liam Gallagher and Patsy Kensit in bed

1990s Fashion 11900. Gustav Klimt - The Swamp

1895. Music I - Klimt

1883. Pierre Auguste Renoir - Umbrellas

the clash london calling

1871. Arthur Rimbaud

1892. Spirit of the Dead Watching - Paul Gauguin

Dolores 'Lolita' Haze, played by Sue Lyon in 1962

Leave a Reply

