Visit to Marie Antoinette…

19 Apr

I got inspired by Madame Guillotine (http://madameguillotine.org.uk/2014/04/04/packing-georgian-sleepover/) and decided to choose my own outfits for a visit to Marie Antoinette. Ladies at Versailles are very competitive and vain, and I had no other choice but to buy luxurious dresses along with finest shoes, fans and accessorize. Mon Dieu, imagine being unfashionably dressed at Versailles!

1775. striped textil indicates upcoming neoclassical style

1785. fan

18th-century

1. Outfit

First outfit is rather casual and consists of an afternoon dress with striped textil which indicates upcoming neoclassical style. Always ahead of the fashion, hey I may even set a trend among court ladies! I’d wear this beautiful silk gown decorated with flowing lace and little roses to an afternoon walk to Orangerie and Queen’s groove. Perhaps I’ll carry a parasol, one must protect oneself not only from the sun but from the sprinkling water of the fountains.

1780.-1785. Robe à la française

18th century fan

1770s ruby, diamond and pearl openwork cluster panels on a graduated pearl necklace

Digital Capture

2. Outfit

The Queen is having a ball, everybody of good breeding and fortune will be there. Luckily I brought my luxurious silk evening dress with elegantly wide panniers, bows, golden details and abundance of lace. Silk itself has a sweet print to it. I just need my finest ivory fan, ruby and pearl necklace and tiny silk shoes with lilac ribbons. I may have the pleasure to dance with Count D’Artois, so it’s not a bad idea to ask Sidonie, my faithful valet, to add a little perfume to my neck.

1776. Robe à la française ansemble

18. centuty gloves

1775. Bergère

1790s Silk Stockings, late 18th century, European

 

lillian-williams-18th-century-french-shoe-collection-2

3. Outfit

I’m so beat after the last night’s party that lasted until dawn. An afternoon walk around gardens might be refreshing. My floral patterned silk gown, blue mitts with lace ending, striped socks, bergere hat (which my good friend Georgiana Cavendish has advised me to wear) and olive green shoes will be just fine.

1785. Ballgown by rose bertin

1770. Fan Louis XVI mariage

1780.Diamond & Emerald Earrings, france

18th-century

4. Outfit

Dinner among the Queen’s closest friend requires something more simple than for a grand soiree but still elegant. This simple creamy silk gown with floral embroidery is designed by Rose Bertin – Queen’s pet. Just look at those opulent lace ruffles and intricate detailing. Fan with golden details and a scene from Mythology, diamond and emerald earrings as an only accessorize.

1785. Robe à l’anglaise 1

1790. Shoes and bag

 5. Outfit

For another afternoon walk, simple sapphire blue dress – to suit the colour of my eyes. Everybody praised my robe d’Anglais, particularly its wonderful shade of blue. Three quarter length sleeves, lace fichu and a belt are highly desirable these days. Silk shoes in matching colour and a reticule.

1783. dress

1780s necklace

1780s earring drops

1776. Shoes, European, Made of silk and leather

 6. Outfit

Last evening of my visit must be spent in a very fashionable silk dress with gorgeous embroidery. Silk fabric itself has a print of flower bouquets, how perfectly suitable for spring? Diamond necklace and earrings, again with a motive of flowers. Could I have chosen a better pair of shoes than these splendid light blue silk ones? Ah, my visit was short but in style.

Leave a Reply

