Fashion plate Friday – 1880.

24 Jan

I came up with an idea! Every Friday I’ll write a post about my favourite fashion plate of the week or a fashion plate with a historical influence. Sometimes I’ll include a dress that resembles the one on the fashion plate or shoes and matching accessorize. Who knows?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1880. Revue De La Mode, May

This fashion plate instantly reminded me of spring which I’ve been so anxiously expecting. I love spring; scented flower gardens, roses, fresh smell of grass, lazing in a warm sun and watching light blue sky full of magical clouds… Enchanting atmosphere of spring fills my heart with such delight and content. I can’t bare nor winter, nor coldness.

I sure enjoyed looking at this beautiful white evening gown and I muss confess it reminded me of Regency era as well. I’m not keen on 1880s fashion, but princess-line silhouette of the late 1870s and early 80s is really astonishing. The cut of this dress is rather simple and the focus is on delicate white silk printed with little roses. Red roses and white lace are main decorations.

Fluid and clean line of this dress is really captivating, just look at it. There’s no excess detailing, everything is just right. The fabric evokes the spirit of Regency era. It so nice to see historical influence in dresses, I’m always searching for different influences in fashion.

The only accessorize lady is wearing are a pair of golden bracelets on white gloves, necklace with medallion and red roses in her hair. Lady wearing this dress on an evening party must have felt like a princess; the dress is so simple but riddled with elegance and good taste.

Leave a Reply

